Talakayan sa PIA tackles economic pillar of ASEAN

Philippine Information Agency region 10 in partnership with Limketkai Luxe Hotel hosted “Talakayan sa Limketkai Luxe,” with guest from the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) region 10 on 24 April 2017 to discuss the significance of the country being part of Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) particularly in its economic community.
ASEAN Talakayan sa PIA.png
DTI Senior Trade and Developemnt Specialist Irwin Jayson Jamaca shared that the Philippines alone could not make an impact in the world’s economy but together with the members of ASEAN as a region, it becomes the 7th largest economy in the world. Further, he said, there will be free flow of goods, easier entry and exit of goods tarriff free. He also said that entrepreneurs would have a bigger market outside the country and an opportunity to send their products abroad in complaince to the standards set by clients and government entities.
In terms of programs for the Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs) in the region, Jamaca shared six competitiveness programs for it to be compete in ASEAN community particularly Industry Clustering Strategy where they group together similar industries like cacao and coffee for focused program implementation, Shared Service Facility where cooperatives and organizations can use an equipment from DTI for efficient production of goods, Negosyo Centers where would be and existing entrepreneurs learn various skills in marketing and promotion of products, SME Roving Academy for entrepreneurs in the country side, Domestic Trade and Promotion and National Competitiveness Program.
In relation to these competitiveness programs, the “4Cs for ASEAN Economic Community (AEC): PH Gameplan” were also presented. The 1st C is to Comply with commitments, 2nd is to enhance Competitiveness, 3rd is to intensify Communications and 4th is to promote Collaboration. “Compliance is the key for you to maximize income,” says Jamaca.
Meanwhile, among the products that are trending in ASEAN are organic food products and those belonging to health and wellness.
The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is an organization founded on August 8, 1967 that was built to promote cooperation on the socio-cultural, economic, and political-security pillars of the region. Member countries include Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.
Further, in its 50th anniversary this year, Philippines is host with theme “Partnering for Change, Engaging the World.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s